Amazon.com Widgets
RecipesNow.com
Subscribe to our FREE eMail Newsletter!   See the HTML Version of
the Latest NewsLetter!
First Name: eMail:
  HomeWhat's Cool RandomMy Recipe BoxAddModify
FAQsNewsLetterWebMaster$PlugsJoin!LogIn/LogOut
Home : Special Diets : Vegetarian : How To Make A Vegan Cake

Save To My Favorites Save to Recipe Box!
Rate This! Rate This Item!
Review It Write A Review!
Send to a friend! Send To A Friend!
Printer Friendly Version Print It Out!
Report A Bad Link! Report A Bad Link!
Share On Facebook
Share On Twitter
How To Make A Vegan Cake

Contributed by: Kirsten Hawkins

Do you have a strict vegan in the family who has a birthday or celebration coming up that traditionally calls for cake? If you're not familiar with vegan dietary practices, you might not know what vegans do not eat. Even worse, you might have no idea how to replace what they do not eat.

But don't worry. In a few short paragraphs, I'll explain exactly what you need to make the perfect cake for your vegan friend or relative. And best of all, no one will be able to taste the difference.

Let's start with what strict vegans do not eat.They do not eat eggs. They do not drink milk. They don't eat certain types of sugar. They don't eat butter. And they don't eat frosting.

Eggs can be replaced by "EnerG Egg Replacer," which you can purchase at many grocery stores. The box will explain how much replacer to use per egg.

Cow's milk can be replaced by organic rice milk, which doesn't contain any animal byproducts. You can buy rice milk at your local grocery store, too.

Many vegans do not consume sugar, either, because it is often whitened by animal bone char. You can avoid sugar that is whitened by bone char by purchasing "unbleached" sugar, sugar in the raw, or beet sugar. There are some cane sugars, too, which were not whitened using bone char, but they hard to distinguish from others, unless you know the exact name brand.

Strict vegans will not eat food made with butter, either. If your cake recipe calls for butter, you can simply replace it with margarine or vegetable shortening.

In addition to butter, sugar, milk, and eggs, strict vegans also will not eat dairy frosting. If your recipe calls for frosting, you can look for a similar flavor of "non-dairy" frosting or you can make your own, replacing butter with margarine.

And there you have it: an ingredient replacement key for your vegan cake. Simply follow the key, replace vegan-unfriendly items on your recipe, and your cake will be perfectly fit for even the strictest vegetarian!

About The Author:

Kirsten Hawkins is a vegetarian and nutrition expert from Nashville, TN. Visit http://www.recipe-vegetarian.com/ for more information on vegetarian recipes and resources.


 Search
 Categories
 Featured

 Links

 • Send an eCard
 • Contact WebAdmin!


More search options
HomeWhat's Cool RandomMy Recipe BoxAddModify
FAQsNewsLetterWebMaster$PlugsJoin!LogIn/LogOut
Shop4WebHost.com All material copyright 2001 - 2016 Link To Us RSS Feeds PlugBoard Privacy Policy EBORecipes.com